ETS-Lindgren Supports the IEEE EMC Society

Company Representatives to Contribute to the Board of Directors Effective January 1, 2023


CEDAR PARK, Texas, December 15, 2022 – ETS-Lindgren announced that members of the Electromagnetic Compatibility (EMC) Society of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) have elected Zhong Chen, Director of RF Engineering with ETS-Lindgren, as a member of its Board of Directors for the term 2023-2025.  The announcement of the newly elected Board of Directors members was made at the Board’s meeting on November 4, 2022.  The IEEE EMC Society Board of Directors also elected Janet O’Neil, Customer Relations Manager with ETS-Lindgren, at its November meeting as a member of the Board’s Executive Committee, serving as Vice-President, Member Services for the term 2023-2024.  While Ms. O’Neil has been a long-time member of the Board of Directors, this is the first time Mr. Chen has been elected to the Board.  Previously, Mr. Zhong supported the EMC Society as a Distinguished Lecturer for the term 2018-2019.

“ETS-Lindgren is a long-time supporter of industry organizations, including the IEEE EMC Society.  We’re excited to support Zhong and Janet as they become more active in the EMC Society Board of Directors in the coming years,” said Joel Kellogg, Global Director, Marketing with ETS-Lindgren.  “Many of you know Zhong from the numerous presentations he has contributed for many years to the annual symposia of the IEEE EMC Society as well as to other EMC, Antenna, and RF/Microwave global conferences.  Likewise, Janet has contributed to the organization of numerous IEEE EMC Society Symposia as well as other global conferences related to EMC.  We’re very proud of the talent they’ve contributed to our industry and their efforts in advancing EMC technology as members of the EMC Society Board of Directors,” Mr. Kellogg added.

Mr. Chen is based at ETS-Lindgren’s global headquarters in Cedar Park, Texas.  He has more than 25 years of experience in RF testing and anechoic chamber design, as well as EMC antenna and field probe design and measurement.  He is an active member of ANSC C63® Committee and Chair of Subcommittee 1, responsible for the antenna calibration (ANSI C63.5) and chamber/test site validation standards (ANSI C63.4 and the ANSI C63.25 series).  Mr. Chen is also Chair of IEEE Standard 1309 Committee, responsible for developing calibration standards for field probes and IEEE Standard 1128 for absorber evaluation.  His research interests include measurement uncertainty, time domain measurements for site validation and antenna calibration, and development of novel RF absorber materials.  Mr. Chen received his M.S.E.E. degree in Electromagnetics from the Ohio State University at Columbus.  He brings a wealth of standards development and technical expertise to the EMC Society Board of Directors.  “I have participated in many EMC Society events over the years as an attendee and speaker, including serving on the Distinguished Lecturer program.  I decided to run for the Board to get more involved in the Society and give back to the community that has contributed so much to my career growth,” said Mr. Chen.

Ms. O’Neil has more than 35 years of experience in the RF/Microwave and EMC industries.  She is currently a member of the Board of Directors of the IEEE EMC Society and is a member of Subcommittee 1 (Techniques and Development) of ANSC C63®.  From 2004-2016 she was a member of the Board of Directors of the Antenna Measurement Techniques Association (AMTA).  She has held leadership positions on numerous IEEE EMC Society Symposia organizing committees, including serving as chair of the 2022 IEEE International Symposium on EMC and Signal/Power Integrity in Spokane, Washington.  She has also been a member of several IEEE International Microwave Symposia (IMS) organizing committees.  She currently serves as Vice-Chair of the IEEE Seattle EMC Chapter.  Ms. O’Neil received the Honored Member Award from the IEEE EMC Society in 1994 for her outstanding contributions to the success of the EMC Society.  Her education includes BA degrees in English and in Business Economics from the University of California, Santa Barbara.  Given her affiliation with many IEEE Societies and the organizers of global conferences related to EMC, her networking skills, coupled with her demonstrated organization capabilities, will benefit the EMC Society.  “I’m excited to serve the Board as Vice-President Member Services.  With this position, I can focus my efforts on increasing member benefits and helping our many chapters worldwide to get active again after being dormant during the pandemic,” said Ms. O’Neil.

The EMC Society “Hear Us Above the Noise” podcast series features members of the newly elected Vice-Presidents of the EMC Society Board of Directors, including Ms. O’Neil, Vice-President Member Services, with ETS-Lindgren; Frank Gronwald, Vice-President Communication Services, with University of Siegen; Frank Leferink, Vice-President Conferences, with Thales and University of Twente; Karen Burnham, Vice-President Standards Services, with Electro Magnetic Applications; and Xiaoning Ye, Vice-President Technical Services, with Intel. 


For further information about the IEEE EMC Society, click here.  For information on ETS-Lindgren, click here, call 512-531-6400, or email


About ETS-Lindgren


ETS-Lindgren is an international manufacturer of systems and components that measure, shield, and control electromagnetic and acoustic energy.  The company’s products are used for electromagnetic compatibility (EMC), microwave and wireless testing, electromagnetic field (EMF) measurement, radio frequency (RF) personal safety monitoring, magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), and control of acoustic environments.


Headquartered in Cedar Park, Texas, ETS-Lindgren has manufacturing facilities in North America, Europe, and Asia.  The company is a wholly owned subsidiary of ESCO Technologies, a leading supplier of engineered products for growing industrial and commercial markets.  ESCO is a New York Stock Exchange listed company (symbol ESE) with headquarters in St. Louis, Missouri.  Additional information about ETS-Lindgren is available at  Follow ETS-Lindgren on Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, Twitter, and YouTube.  Additional information about ESCO and its subsidiaries is available at


# # #



Janet O'Neil

Marketing Communications


Office:  +1 (512) 531-2676

Cell:  +1 (425) 443-8106